Testimonials

We have used AEF Electrical for the past 3 years, and can highly recommend them. They always fit us in no matter how small or large the job, their prices are reasonable and the quality of the work is good. All you could want in an electrician!”

1st August 2014, Google Review

Job in question was carried out very well by very skilled and knowledgeable electrician! Would recommend him anytime!”

30th July 2014, My Builder Review

I have just had AEF Electrical carry out their third job for us and can only state that their work was of the highest standard on each occasion, their promised time and date of arrival was fulfilled and they gave a full explanation of the task to be completed and what it would entail. The job site was left neat and tidy and at a very reasonable cost too.”

7th July 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

Top notch company I would recommend them to anyone.”

9th May 2014, My Builder Review

I have used this company several times now for PAT testing and fitting various electrical items. They provide a good, professional but friendly service with competitive prices and helpful advice. They have always turned up at the agreed time. I have no hesitation at recommending them.”

2nd May 2014, Freeindex Review

David Norman attended my flat in Edinburgh promptly as arranged, fitted a new RCD distribution board and checked all circuitry. I would recommend him as reliable, knowledgeable and efficient.”

23rd April 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

David responded to my request to check a faulty power point quickly, arrived at the appointed time and resolved the problem efficiently. This was the first occasion I had called on him and it will not be the last.”

4th April 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

Tasked to resolved a problem with the earth connection and fit a modern fuse box, he sorted a couple of other issues at the same time. Excellent to deal with - reliable, gave good straightforward honest advice and turned up when agreed. All in all really happy with the job and the price. Would definitely use again.”

3rd April 2014, Freeindex Review

After seeing the excellent reviews in Which Local for AEF Electrical, I contacted the owner, David Norman, and asked him to quote for the electrical part of a project to combine two flats into one. His quote was competitive and I was reassured by both his manner during the estimate process and the good reviews he had received; so I instructed my builder to use AEF for the electrical work. The work is now complete and I am very pleased with the work. David was able both to fit in with the rather haphazard schedule of my builder and meet my exacting requirements. He was more than happy for me to buy the components where I could get them more cheaply and he undertook extra work at a very reasonable cost. In addition to the electrical work, which included a full rewiring, he also supervised the installation of telephone, ethernet and satelite and terrestrial television cabling. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and I would certainly use the firm again.”

16th January 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

After recommendations here contacted AEF and dave came same day to look at work required, replacing some lights in Bathroom and Kitchen. Gave good advice and solution to the problems, estimate followed, very acceptable and work completed within the week. Very professional, clean and tidy, and will use again - highly recommend this firm.”

10th January 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

Had read previous reviews on here & can only echo the positive sentiments. Very flexible, reliable and reasonable prices - we have already had him back for more work and will do so again when required. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dave to anyone & he fully deserves his excellent reputation.”

10th January 2014, Which Trusted Trader Review

David was recommended to me by the contractor installing a new central heating boiler in a 200 yr-old listed house in central Edinburgh which needed some extra and very complex cable routeing as part of the installation process. He estimated quickly, came on time and did the job promptly and effectively. I discussed a possible additional small job supplying and replacing an electric shower with him which he was happy to take on, again with a satisfactory estimate and outcome within a tight schedule just before Christmas. It is likely that he will be undertaking another more major job of installing a new consumer unit for me later in the spring. I have confidence in his work and look forward to using him for other electrical work in the future and I would happily recommend him to others needing this kind of specialist.”

18th November 2013, Which Trusted Trader Review

Dave Norman (the owner of the business) was recommended to me by my gas boiler engineer. Dave installed a new consumer unit to replace an old fusebox, and installed some extra power points. I was delighted with his work and his attitude. Dave will not compromise on safety or quality, and his approach was intelligent and helpful. It was a pleasure to have him do the work and I will definitely use him again for further work. Thoroughly recommended!”

5th November 2013, Which Trusted Trader Review

Great job, very helpful.”

3rd September 2013, My Builder Review

Dave gave a sensible quotation for the job and we communicated by email as regards appointment times and third party delays for supply of fitting, Dave was professionally reliable and did not snub job being too small. It was a job well executed. I would recommend and use Dave for future work.”

20th August 2013, My Builder Review

Excellent work, quick and efficient!”

5th August 2013, My Builder Review

I can't recommend AEF highly enough. I tendered for some routine electrical work to my Edinburgh flat and included AEF as they'd been recommended by a colleague for both value and service. AEF's quote was at a considerable discount to the other two tenders so I instructed them. Both the lads were straightforward and approachable, and left me feeling comfortable at all times with what I expected to pay once the works were completed. Dave took me through precisely what he was proposing to do in very simple terms and I was confident that what they were doing was necessary. This was done to a high standard in good time, with due consideration shown to me and my family. They also cleaned up after every visit and left notably good finishes on the walls and floors that had been breached. In short AEF left me in no doubt that appointing them had been good for my pocket and my peace of mind.”

1st August 2013, Google Review

I needed a kitchen circuit reorganised to replace a microwave (plug-and-socket) with a wired-in combination oven. I phoned one evening. Dave came out early the next morning, looked at the job, suggested a neat way to do it, found the necessary parts in his van, and finished the job in a few tens of minutes. He then charged me a VERY reasonable amount. I couldn't have wished for better - prompt, efficient, cheerful. I have complete confidence in AEF Electrical. Highly recommended.”

16th July 2013, Which Trusted Trader Review

I called AEF Electrical after reading the many good reviews here. And now I can add my own good review! Dave and his colleague (also Dave) sorted out some electrical issues in my property. They were both professional, punctual, tidy and trustworthy. I have no hesitation in using them again or recommending them.”

28th May 2013, Which Trusted Trader Review

Excellent job by Dave! Very clean and tidy, clear communication with me as the client, prompt. Definitely recommended.”

7th May 2013, My Builder Review

Mr Brodie arrived early and commenced the work that was required. He also drew my attenton to an earthing problem. Work carried out in a professional manner, work carried was fully explained. Would use this company again.”

7th January 2013, My Builder Review

very good - competitively priced, good communicator, did a neat job, was flexible with times and details of the work, issued certificates at the end. Would use again and would recommend to a friend.”

26th December 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

Came round and did the job same day I shortlisted - thanks!”

4th December 2012, My Builder Review

Picked AEF via Which Local and was not disappointed. Had several fuseboxes consolidated into one with full RCB capability. Also had some external wiring provided for a summerhouse. Dave was punctual and the quote process was painless. The fusebox work was complex but Dave offered up 2 alternative solutions and explained the difference in simple layman's terms. The overall price was within the range I'd anticipated. The external work was governed to some extent by the weather and again Dave and his colleague proved flexible to get the job done within my timescales. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and will certainly turn to them again ass and when the need arises.”

4th December 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

We employed Dave and his team to carry out a complete rewire of our property. The quote was competitive and the work was carried out quickly, efficiently and to a very high standard. We would definitely recommend this company and would have no hesitation in using them again.”

7th November 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

Turned up at agreed day and time and did a good job with required work. Would definitely hire again for any future electrical work.”

24th October 2012, My Builder Review

Arrived at agreed time, friendly, very professional, got on with the job in hand, very reasonable priced. Got advice about a few other things no problem. Would definitely hire again and recommend.”

26th September 2012, My Builder Review

Came out quickly to look at the job. Investigated current setup thoroughly, recommended a well-thought out solution. Easy to schedule the work in. Arrived on time, carried out the work with no mess or fuss.”

25th September 2012, My Builder Review

Very positive experience. On time - helpful - reasonable price and efficient work. Would rehire and strongly recommend.”

14th August 2012, My Builder Review

We have made use of David Normans services He is an efficient and reliable worker and very cost effective We would recommend him highly”

13th August 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

Good job, charged as quoted, friendly service, would use again”

12th June 2012, My Builder Review

I contacted AEF on recommendation from my parents after they carried out some extensive work to their new house, as we had a humming fuse box. David Norman called me straight away as he thought it might be a safety issue and he arranged for someone to be with us within 30 minutes. Cannot fault the service.”

1st June 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

David did a great job fitting new lights, fan and power to shower in our bathroom. It was a really neat job and he was able to fit around schedule to get rooms decorated. When discussing the job he was able to give me a clear indication of what the work would involve too so we able to plan other work. I also really appreciated him contacting me after the job was done to make sure we were happy with the work.”

24th May 2012, My Builder Review

When we moved into our house recently, the electrical system needed a thorough review and upgrade. We had to engage David Norman before he could survey the job and he readily allocated a full week some time in advance for our work. He along with his colleague Dave gave us a lot of sound advice on the way to proceed, the workmanship was excellent and jobs ranged from replacing lights to installing smoke alarms and a new fuse board. The final invoice was a very pleasant surprise. We thoroughly recommend AEF Electrical who are well worth their 5 star rating on Which Local.”

11th May 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

David Norman carried out a small job for me quickly and efficiently and was a very pleasant person to deal with. I can understand why he is recommended by so many people.”

24th April 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

This electrician (David Norman) did a very competent job of replacing a faulty socket and earthing the recently installed cable head. David was a pleasant and helpful electrician. I would employ David again for other electrical work.”

11th April 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

I found this Electrician (David Norman) on Which Local and I can confirm that he lives up to his 5-star rating. He did a number of jobs in our home including fitting some new sockets, making safe some old electrical fittings and installing a new circuit board/fuse box. Everything was done tidily and efficiently and for a reasonable price. When he upgraded the circuit board he advised me to contact Scottish Power about replacing an old mains cable - I would never have known this and no other electrician had mentioned it. I have no hesitation in recommending him to others.”

30th March 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

I found this Electrician (David Norman) on Which Local and I can confirm that he lives up to his 5-star rating. He did a number of jobs in our home including fitting some new sockets, making safe some old electrical fittings and installing a new circuit board/fuse box. Everything was done tidily and efficiently and for a reasonable price. When he upgraded the circuit board he advised me to contact Scottish Power about replacing an old mains cable - I would never have known this and no other electrician had mentioned it. I have no hesitation in recommending him to others.”

30th March 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

Dave and his team provided an exhaustive pre-job quote, paying a visit to explore the best - and cheapest - way of achieving what we were after. In terms of the lighting, we were able to test out a new type of eco bulb for a week. The light, for us, was a little harsh, but Dave had made it clear that he'd come around and swap for a softer eco bulb if we wanted to. He delivered on his promise, at a time convenient to us over the weekend, and we now have beautiful lighting in our bathrooms, and an extra kitchen socket just where we need it. We'll be having Dave back for our next job.”

6th February 2012, My Builder Review

We have used David at AEf electrical twice now and on both occasions have been very satisfied with David's meticulous work and amiable nature. This is a a service you can trust and it won't break your bank balance.”

4th January 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

We have used David at AEf electrical twice now and on both occasions have been very satisfied with David's meticulous work and amiable nature. This is a service you can trust and it won't break your bank balance.”

4th January 2012, Which Trusted Trader Review

Arrived on time, fault fixed quickly and charged quoted price. Very pleased.”

2nd January 2012, My Builder Review

Used David Norman week of 24/11/11 for a small job for dealing with some ceiling lights. He arrived promptly and dealt with the work efficently and charged very reasonably. I would be happy to use him again and recommend the firm to others”

24th November 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

I contacted AEF and David arranged a time to look at a couple of small electrical problems I had in a rental flat. He turned up when he said and fixed both problems there and then. Great service and value for money.”

18th November 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

Came promptly and did the repair. Seemed helpful.”

15th November 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

David did a small job for us (replaced bathroom fan). He was polite, efficient and very reasonably priced. We would certainly recommend him and would use him ourselves again.”

9th November 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

David upgraded our fuse board and did an excellent job. Arrived on time, explained how the new board would operate, and checked all circuits were functioning properly following installation. Would use him again and recommend him to others.”

20th October 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

Prompt helpful service. Good price. Found the info on 'Which Local'. Would use again.”

18th October 2011, hich Trusted Trader Review

We just moved house and needed the electrics looked at as they were old. David came and was very polite and honest and gave us 3 options for improving the wiring . We knew we needed a complete rewire and David gave us a good price for the work needing done. He completed the job in the time he said he would and left the house very tidy. He did a great job and I would not hesitate to use him again.”

2nd October 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

David is a great tradesman. Came in and gave an honest view of what was needed, helped with chosing the right materials to get what we needed, and then came in and did a nice, clean job. Highly recommended.”

7th September 2011, My Builder Review

David replaced my bathroom ceiling fan and did a super job. He responded to my email for a quote promptly, and rang to let me know when he was going to arrive. He was very reasonably priced and reliable. I would definitely use him again.”

31st March 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

David carried out a thorough routine inspection of the electrical circuits in my flat. He phoned the day before the appointmant to confirm and was punctual and efficient. He rectified three minor problems on the spot and provided the written report on the installation there and then. He also gave me options for a future upgrade while making it clear that this was not a requirement on legal or safety grounds. I would happily employ him again.”

17th March 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

David fitted a built-in oven for me, an outside socket and trace heating for a drain pipe which had been freezing up during the winter. He did the oven when he came to provide the estimate which was very helpful. He had to go away and source the trace heating but kept me informed of progress. He was also provided me with options for the outside socket. A very reliable electrician that I would highly recommend.”

4th March 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

Quick, efficient, pleasant. Turned up when he said he would. Many thanks.”

31st January 2011, My Builder Review

I had some very old style light switches (in keeping with the house) which had failed, David managed to re-use all but one of them, trying different options to try and keep them if at all possible. I was very grateful for his approach and flexibility in trying to do what I wanted. Would very happily have him back if/when I have any further electrical work required.”

6th January 2011, Which Trusted Trader Review

Only a minor job, but arrived promptly, seemed knowledgeable and careful in what he was doing, and did the job quickly. Price seemed very reasonable.”

25th November 2010, Which Trusted Trader Review

Dave arrived promptly, was friendly and pleasant. He fixed the fault without any fuss and charged a very reasonable price. 100% recommended.”

21st November 2010, My Builder Review

David is one of the most reliable, hard-working and conscientious tradesmen I have ever worked with. He turns up when he says he will, isn't afraid of a challenge (even of the small domestic type) and applies himself to a job until it is 100% sorted. I am recommending him to all my friends and will be using him for all electrical jobs from now on.”

3rd November 2010, My Builder Review

David Norman responded promptly to my original contact. He surveyed and identified the problem quickly, procured the necessary fittings and completed the job without delay. He impressed as a skilled electrician and I would be very pleased to use his sevices in the future. I regarded his charges as very reasonable.”

21st October 2010, Which Trusted Trader Review

Replaced immersion heater element without any trouble - good price too!”

6th October 2010, My Builder Review

A very good and knowledgeable service, very highly recommended.”

20th September 2010, My Builder Review

Excellent service, got to the source of all the electrical problems straight away. Fast, efficient and friendly and was charged a fair price as well. Would definitely recommend Dave for any electrical work. Thanks again!”

23rd August 2010, My Builder Review

Dave did a superb job and was very helful sourcing products for me when I had bought the wrong items. The price for the job was very reasonable and Dave is a very reliable worker, turning up exactly when he said he would. I cannot recommend Dave highly enough and will definately pass on his details to any of my friends looking for a great electrician.”

9th August 2010, My Builder Review

David at AEF Electrical has undertaken various electrical work for me over the last year. He has proven himself to be punctual, reliable, honest and overall good value for money. I would happily recommend his services to other Which subscribers.”

22nd May 2010, Which Trusted Trader Review